In Ohio, schools with truly held religious beliefs can be established without a charter from the State Board of Education. They were originally nicknamed “-08 schools” after the regulation that allowed them. In October 2023, the Ohio legislature adopted a new law (O.R.C § 3301.0732), and these private schools became known as non-chartered, non-tax-supported (NCNT) schools.  

Along with that change, the legislature created the Ohio Department of Education and Workforce (ODEW) to replace the Ohio Department of Education (ODE). When this memo refers to the ODE, it references an action taken prior to the change in October 2023. Otherwise, this memo will reference the ODEW.

HSLDA will assist member families who, because of truly held religious beliefs, organize a single-family non-chartered, non-tax-supported (NCNT) school to educate their own children. If you are an HSLDA member who is considering privately educating your children under this option, please contact us for more information.

Forming an Non-Chartered, Non-Tax-Supported (NCNT) School

Parents may, because of truly held religious beliefs, organize a non-chartered, non-tax-supported school to educate their children. To use this option:  

1. Make sure you have the required qualifications. 

Teachers and administrators at an NCNT school should hold at least a bachelor’s degree, or the equivalent, from a recognized college or university. 

2. Operate for the required number of hours. 

NCNT schools must operate for at least 455 hours for part-time kindergarten, 910 hours for all-day kindergarten through 6th grade, and 1,001 hours for 7th through 12th grade each school year. 

3. Teach the required subjects. 

NCNT schools are required to provide a course of study in:

  • Language arts
  • Geography
  • History of the United States and Ohio
  • National, state, and local government
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health
  • Physical education
  • The fine arts, including music
  • First aid, safety, and fire prevention
  • Other subjects as prescribed by the school

4. Follow regular procedures for promotion from grade to grade for pupils who have met the school’s educational requirements.

5. Comply with state and local health, fire, and safety laws.

6. Certify in a report (called the “report to parents”) that the school meets minimum education standards listed above.

You also must file a copy with the Ohio Department of Education and Workforce (ODEW) on or before September 30 each year. A sample “report to parents” and cover letter is available for HSLDA members below.  

7. Report your school’s attendance to your local school board treasurer within the first two weeks of the beginning of the school year. 

HSLDA members can access a “Non-Chartered Non-Tax Supported School Report of Attendance” form below.