Share this page:

January 30, 2014

GED Replaced in Some States

Homeschool students who have successfully completed their home education curriculum do not need the GED or other high school equivalency tests. These tests still carry the stigma associated with high school drop-outs, which both undermines the equivalency of a homeschool diploma and can cause confusion regarding whether the student actually completed high school. If a college, employer, or military recruitment officer tells your child that he or she needs a GED or other equivalency test, members should contact HSLDA for advice.

Please be aware that 14 states (Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wyoming) have changed their options for the high school equivalency test. Some states have chosen to change from the GED to other tests, while others have opted to add new tests in addition to the GED.

States now have three tests to choose from:

  • GED
  • HiSET (developed by Educational Testing Service)
  • TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion, developed by McGraw-Hill)

We understand that 16 other states are currently re-evaluating their use of the GED test so this list may continue to change over the coming months.

For more information on which high school equivalency test is used by your state, click here.

For more details on whether your state is involved in these changes, click here.