Select a different location
Select a different location
District of Columbia
Northern Mariana Islands
Pennsylvania Homeschool Law At a Glance
- Options for Homeschooling: Four
- School Required for Ages: 6–18 (beginning 2020)
- Notification Required: Yes
- Teacher Qualifications: No, except option 1
- State Mandated Subjects: Yes
- Assessment requirements: No, except option 1
- Immunization requirements: Yes
- No notice, Low regulation
- Low regulation
- Moderate regulation
- High regulation
How to Homeschool in Pennsylvania
Member Resources for Pennsylvania
Homeschooling Forms for Pennsylvania
HSLDA was there for us 32 years ago when we began our homeschool journey and it was considered illegal in our state. They are still here, advocating for our grandchildren and the rights of their parents. I highly recommend membership!
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, parents may homeschool their adopted children.
However, if you are a foster parent, the option of homeschooling may be determined by your caseworker.
Special education refers to instruction or assistance in traditional academic areas such as math, language arts, etc. Related services, on the other hand, are aids to a child—like speech therapy, occupational therapy, and physical therapy. These services indirectly improve a child’s ability to learn, but are separate from traditional academic curricula. HSLDA believes that parents whose children receive related services at a public school are still home educators.
Because HSLDA’s board of directors desires to focus our resources on guarding the freedom of homeschoolers from public school oversight, we cannot help homeschooled students obtain access to special education in public schools. However, HSLDA may assist member families seeking related services that have been denied because of homeschooling. We view this as a basic fairness issue, since according to the U.S. Department of Education, homeschooled students are entitled to related services in states where homeschools are considered to be private schools, but in other states, they are not. You can learn about your state’s provisions here.
Well, it depends! Homeschooling is so personalized to each child and each family—you may be surprised at how much homeschool budgets can vary. If you have the time and flexibility to take advantage of opportunities to borrow curriculum, use the library, shop for used books, find reusable, multi-level, or free curriculum, and exchange services for extras like music, art, etc., you might pare your costs down to $50–100 per student. Adding in some paid extras like co-ops, online courses, enrichment classes, or sports could bring your budget up to $300–500. And if you opt for tutors, video courses, or all-inclusive curriculum packages, your cost may easily be $500 on up. (Still, that’s a lot less than private school!)
You can check out more creative ways to stretch your dollars here.
- No notice, low regulation: States that require no notification from parents to their local school district or any other governmental agency.
- States with low regulation: States that require parents to send a notification to their local school district.
- States with moderate regulation: States that require parents to send a notification, test scores, and/or professional evaluation of student progress to their local school district.
- States with high regulation: States that require parents to send notification or achievement test scores and/or professional evaluation, plus other requirements (i.e., curriculum approval by the state, teacher qualification of parents, or home visits by officials).