Essay Contest

Announcing 2012
Essay Contest Winners

The results for the 2012 Essay Contest are in! With hundreds of entries divided among the three categories, we were thrilled with the creativity and talent displayed by the homeschool students who participated from all over the country and the world.

Essay Contest Archives
2011   2010
2009   2008
2007   2006
2005   2004
2003   2002

In Category I, students ages 7 to 10 answered the question “Who is your favorite president and why?”

For Category II, students ages 11 to 14 answered the question “If you were running for president what would be the top three planks in your platform and why?”

Finally, in Category III, students ages 15 to 19 were asked to compare and contrast one of the following pairs of presidents: Republican presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Dwight Eisenhower - or - Democratic presidents Woodrow Wilson and Harry Truman.

Below you will find the topessays in each category. To read the essays simply click on the names of the winners (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader).

Thank you to all who participated! The proceeds from the contest will go to the Home School Foundation’s Special Needs Children’s Fund.

2012 Essay Contest Winners


First Place
Alena Watson
Ovilla, TX

Second Place
Allison Barr
Moorefield, WV

Third Place
Lily Barger
Knightstown, IN

Honorable Mention
Gretchen Bradley
St Augustine FL

Honorable Mention
Leila Castillo
Miami FL

Finalists (in no particular order)

EJ McKay
Boyce, VA

Collins Moranos
Camden, SC

Matthew Platow
Coconut Creek, FL

Garrett Hopkins
Alexandria, VA

Christopher Wyatt
Hopkinsville, KY


First Place
William Payne
Emerson, GA

Second Place
Rachel Clark
Lumberton, TX

Third Place
Sarah Page
Simi Valley, CA

Honorable Mention
Lauren Houchin
Merritt Island, FL

Honorable Mention
Noah Hines
Grand Prairie, TX

Finalists (in no particular order)

Joel Samec
Stillwater, MN

Will Watters
Auburn, MA

Kirkland Moranos
Camden, SC

Chase Jinkins
Granbury, TX


First Place
Chris Jorritsma
Rockville, MD

Second Place
Maegen Fariss
Cheverly, MD

Third Place
Holden Bradburn
Glasglow, KY

Honorable Mention
Emily Hepler
Bel Air, MD

Honorable Mention
Noeliz Vega
Apison, TN

Finalists (in no particular order)

Alex Swain
Fallston, MD

Dakota Dalton
Rolla, MO

Corinne Brodowski
Purcellville VA

Gregory Stedman
Spring Hill, TN

Brianna Stedman
Spring Hill, TN

Dustin Pletan
Whitesboro, TX

Please contact the Contest Coordinator at contests@hslda.org with any questions.